DEV Community

Brian Gitego
Brian Gitego

Posted on • Updated on

Team + Culture.

Alt Text

Another week passed. This one was a lot less technical and more on the soft skills side. A lot more new things were learned and still more to come.

The most important thing I took away from the five days is Team Culture. I had never thought much about how a team needs more than just skilled members and an effective workflow. Team culture, I learned is a big part of the glue that holds a team together and that without it a team cannot last. I really enjoyed this part of the week because I got to learn about my teammates, turns out there's really a lot we didn't know about each other. I am very confident that we make a cool team.

This week also introduced me to remote collaboration. With excellent tools like Miro which we used quite a bit this last week, working remotely as a team was not just easy but fun as well (Oh God, that sounded like a YouTube ad😄). My new favorite collaboration tool from this week though is Wonder. Personally, I think collaborating remotely with the team pushed us to make better use of our time, think each on our own, and therefore collectively generate more ideas as a team. I am very grateful to the wonderful person who puts her all into our growth as a team.

Last but definitely not least, Friday came with yet another interesting surprise. We were asked to think about the perfect developer backpack and man did I let myself dream. I collected every gadget I want as a developer and it was so fun. And I believe in "The Law of attraction": "The more you think and talk about something, the greater its chances of happening". So, fingers crossed (means Good Luck to me in this case).

Top comments (0)