DEV Community

Giulio "Joshi"
Giulio "Joshi"

Posted on

The door was ajar, so I stepped in...

Hello world, fellow techies! πŸ‘‹πŸ»

I believe I'm one of you, or at least my history tell me so.
The firs time I touched a programming language was probably '95, being able to just smash random words into BASIC.

That was when the curse started πŸ˜‰
Took me some more years to learn something more industry-appealing, and land a job as PHP developer, back in 2005.

About me?

I'm the kind of guy that held his head down on the job, not really engaging with anyone besides colleagues, or some random acquaintances met during workshops/meetups.
My only advantage in that context was that I love reading, and could learn studying alone.

After some time you realize this way of working has limits, drains out your willingness to improve... and you need to find something better, like partners in learning outside your circle.

I do tend to separate work experience from the personal dedication to technology:
this was a costly decision, often resulting in having a lot of half backed things around, never ready to get published.

Maybe I'm being late to the party

This feeling about
"at this point I'm too afraid to start"
was blocking me from any active participation.
These reasons motivated me in changing my ways:

  • 1⃣ ~ * I need to improve communication, writing and being interesting in general. Even in person meetings and meetups helps you there, mine is currently located there

    firenze.dev - La community degli sviluppatori a Firenze

    firenze.dev Γ¨ la community degli sviluppatori a Firenze: organizziamo incontri ed eventi gratuiti per favorire l'apprendimento e il miglioramento continuo

    favicon firenze.dev

I know this means doing some more mistakes and have to deal with them, see if I'm really up to the task.

Next Challenges

What could I write next?

I got a website to rebuild, its a small personal website with little information: I decided to ditch Wordpress for a static generated tool, that is Zola.
I'll probably try out to write an article about the experience.

I hope to get back here after a few years and be able to look that something happened and left some trace.

Thank you very much for staying with me to the end

Was this pleasant to read?

Drop a line, let me know how much I bore you πŸ€ͺ

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

I got a website to rebuild, its a small personal website with little information: I decided to ditch Wordpress for a static generated tool, that is Zola. I'll probably try out to write an article about the experience.

Do you already have content for the website?

Collapse
 
giulio profile image
Giulio "Joshi" • Edited

Thanks for caring, Jean-Michel!

I got just small stuff (<100 words posts, or single picture post) some are memento, others hasn't aged well.
Most of the visits stats are mine. πŸ˜†

Content is so scattered I don't think I need a full blog, will probably transition the website to a portfolio (similar to what you see in Github pages).

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

You don't need a blog for now.
A blog is just a tool.
A tool for what?

You need content. Content is king. Adopt a note taking app like Obsidian or Notion and start writing just for you.
One you have enough content, things will clarify themselves

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

I'm proud of you, making the first step, getting from zero to one, is usually the hardest thing to do!