DEV Community

Cover image for Python control flow question
Saharan-sub
Saharan-sub

Posted on

Python control flow question

Hello everyone,

so I just covered control flow in Python from the book I am using and will like to test my knowledge.

I gave myself this task: a manager has 20 days to complete a project. She needs to give the project owner the number of days it will require her to wrap up the project.

If she inputs
0 day then the task is done.
Anything between 1 to 19 days, the program tells her the number of days left.
20 days, she needs to get the ball rolling!
more than 20 days, she gets a warning

see my code below, kindly let me know how to improve it

project deadline countdown

project requires 20 days to completion

projectDays = 20

How many days do you need ?

print ("How many days do you need: ")
managerRequest = int(input())

execute this condition if the manager's requested days for completion is greater than 0 but less than 20

while projectDays > managerRequest and managerRequest > 0 :
print ("You have " + str(projectDays - managerRequest ) + ' day(s) left.' )
managerRequest =- 1

execute this condition if the manager's request is more than 20 days

if managerRequest > projectDays:
print ("You have only have " + str(projectDays) + ' days for execution.')
print ("You have " + str(managerRequest - projectDays) + " day(s) deficit")

execute this condition if the manager's request is exactly 20 days

elif managerRequest == 20:
print("kindly get to the job!")

execute this condition if the manager's request is 0 days i.e task completed!

elif managerRequest == 0:
print("Weldone on completing the project")

finally, I will appreciate more instructions that I can try coding based on Control flow, so that I test myself further.

much thanks

Top comments (0)