DEV Community

Govind Vyas
Govind Vyas

Posted on • Originally published at indiehackers.com

How I came up with the idea to build the largest WordPress Resource Directory on the internet?

WordPress is undoubtedly one of the best content management systems that exist. It has a large ecosystem around it, which leads to frustration for people who use it. To make matters worse, finding structured resources to help beginners is sometimes challenging.


Sections

How did I get the idea to build echowp?

Due to the size of the WordPress ecosystem, both new and seasoned users of the platform spend a significant amount of time looking for resources specific to each project. Even after using WordPress for nine years, I spend almost twenty minutes a day looking for an answer to my problem.

I frequently asked by my clients and the students I mentored, Where do find the theme, plugin, or tutorial, or how do I install a theme? Where are all these great plugins I've heard of? To answer all of those questions on a single platform, it appears to be a good idea to build an all-in-one directory.

What are some of the challenges I faced?

During the initial planning, I realized within a couple of hours that working with the massive WordPress ecosystem would be challenging. Quantity is an issue - so does quality. While it is about functionality, stability, and support, some themes and plugins may outperform others. Making the wrong choices here could drive a user away from the platform. It is also true for tutorials, beginner guides, and other educational materials.

The second most difficult challenge I faced was presenting the massive data with a simple decluttered UI and buttery smooth UX while also creating co-relationships for products that fall into multiple categories and tags. To be honest, this was the point at which I became a little frustrated. I researched a few of the established tools directories, studying how they achieved the final results. I created numerous mind maps and flowcharts, and eventually, I got past the obstacles.

How it compares to other resources?

I wanted to create a directory that is the largest all-in-one WordPress resource directory on the internet. I wanted people to be able to find what they are looking for easily and quickly without having to search through a whole bunch of websites. Be it the best WordPress themes, plugins, WordPress-related products, services, tutorials, blogs, news, videos, podcasts, forums, events, and influencers.

Of course, numerous blogs publish all of the information I mentioned, but my goal is to consolidate all those resources into a single platform.

How I initially validated my idea?

I began by researching the concept on Google. I then looked at what people were searching for and what they lacked. I then considered what I wanted to offer my users. I also looked at some of the most popular WordPress websites and what they had to offer. I also considered what I wanted to provide my users and how I wanted to differentiate myself from other websites.

At last, I rolled out multiple polls on social media, forums, and groups. I will keep posting about the poll results in the next update. And yes, the results were in favor.


Thank you for your time. I would really appreciate your thoughts and suggestions.

Top comments (0)