DEV Community

Elizabeth Davies
Elizabeth Davies

Posted on

Nevertheless, GrannyW Coded

I began coding because...

I had a choice in my Freshman year, Philosophy 101 or Intro to Fortran. The latter sounded far more interesting. It also gained me access to the college mainframe. All those platters and blinking lights! This may have been a while ago. Then I discovered you could write calculator games ... and this thing called 'the web' happened. Then I blinked and it was 2017.

I'm currently hacking on...

Middle to Front frameworks with emphasis on UIX on the enterprise level. Striving to design and build maintainable code that is flexible enough to pivot with the demands of today's web.

I'm excited about...

Learning. Coding has never disappointed. You gain mastery and go "yay!"; look around to see what's next and there is always something to reach for.

My advice for other women who code is...

Follow your passion then follow through. Don't worry about your gender; don't worry about everyone else's gender. Be so good they can't ignore you. Learn, Work hard, have fun. The rest follows.

Top comments (0)