DEV Community

Gurjot-Sidhu
Gurjot-Sidhu

Posted on

New interview?

This past week I have been working on a few code assignments. I heard back from HCL Technologies and they are not interested in continuing the hiring process. It is unfortunate to go as far as code challenge and not pass but I am remaining hopeful that opportunities may arise. Speaking of which, I got a new opportunity with Samsara. I found out about the company on a post on Linkedin about the top 50 up and coming tech companies to work at. I applied for an software development intern position and reached out to a recruiter on Linkedin soon afterwards. Within the hour, I got an email saying they are interested in moving forward with the process. I was given a code challenge with the option to practice via CodeSignal.com. I ended up trying the practice challenge and I barely finished 1 out of the 4 questions in the 70 minutes I was given. So i decided to reach out to hear to ask for extra time which she had offered. Its been 4 days and she has not gotten back to me about the time adjustment. I won't attempt it with 70 minutes because I know i wont be able to do my absolute best in that time frame. I also completed my JPMorgan and Co. assessment this week. It was done with this new technology called Hire Vue. You basically have 3 minutes to answer a few questions about yourself or your work. The questions are similar to actual interviews. Then you must complete 2 code challenges. After completing each question within 35 minutes, you must explain your thought process in 3 minutes in a video recording and how you could improve your solution had you been given more time.
This was a stressful week no doubt about it, but I kind of liked having all of these challenges and assesments to complete. I hope i get many more opportunities like this and can eventually get hired after doing one of these.

Top comments (0)