DEV Community

Cover image for NightCrit v1.0
Hector Leiva
Hector Leiva

Posted on • Updated on

NightCrit v1.0

I had a dream on October 23rd, 2020 and I'm trying to make it so that other people can experience the dream.

Image description

Nightcrit is becoming another art work that I'm using my technologist skill set to implement.

The first iteration is using Vue.js and basic (i.e. amateur) 3D renderings in order to re-create scenes that fit the feeling of the dream overall.

This has been a great project to learn a bit of Vue and Blender and see how far I can go with Youtube tutorials and a vision.

I've also been diving into the WebAudio API to try and create atmospheric generative soundscapes that fit the dream. I've only implemented a Brown noise generator; but it is effective in capturing the mood that I'm looking for.

There are many other projects that people have created already that are influential:

My next steps are to learn Unity enough to create an artifact that will allow users to open Nightcrit and be able to move themselves through this landscape and trigger the audio events as they move through it.

I will have to re-create the 3D apartment building again to allow a virtual user to walk through it, but I'm looking forward to the challenge.

Top comments (0)