DEV Community

Hector Leiva
Hector Leiva

Posted on

NightCrit v2.0 (release 1.0)

I've completed the first iteration of NightCrit v2.0 in it's current form several days ago:

https://nightcrit.com

Image description

There were a number of obstacles that had to be overcome:

How will Unity render the output of my project?

It is important to me that NightCrit is rendered out so that it is available on the web. A VR-only environment was too limiting for what I wanted.

I was looking for releasing this project to the largest audience possible, while still attempting to be as immersive as possible. I looked into WebGL and this seemed like it would be the best approach.

How do I host this Unity WebGL project?

I already had the domain and a S3 bucket set-up for the Vue project that was NightCrit v1.0. I replaced the contents of that project with the output from Unity.

Image description

The biggest headache was getting errors on the index.html around the Content-Encoding: not being set correctly. For those that stumble onto this issue in the future (including myself) and are wondering what needs to be updated in order to have .gz data fetched correctly from S3, this is what needs to be accomplished:

Image description

Image description

The Content-Encoding needs to be set on the S3 bucket object itself.

Future Plans

There are a few other number of things I wanted to accomplish. The most important thing is that the bones of this project seem to be there; and because of that I felt compelled to publish what I had.

There will be further updates in trying to make the models better and adding more atmospheric elements to get the feeling that I had in the dream down.

What's important is to try and show people what I've accomplished thus far.

Thank you for reading.

Top comments (0)