DEV Community

Henrique Holtz
Henrique Holtz

Posted on

How I use ChatGPT to create flash cards for Anki to learn English

Hello there! In this straightforward and short article I'll tell you how I'm creating English flash cards for Anki using ChatGPT (free version).

For me, an Anki flash card needs to be:

  • A short sentence where only one word is unknown/weird for me (yet) (100% in the target language), which this new word is highlighted.
  • With an audio (I can cover how to do that in a next article if you want to)
  • In the back side, I put the meaning of the word in the target language always as possible

Usually I try to create a few cards (at least 2 for each new word) in different tenses like simple past, present, present perfect, interrogate, negative and so on.

Also, I check how common is that word, because I'm not interested in learn words which are rarely used.


To do that I ask for ChatGPT using the following prompt:

Please give me the meaning as a summary (1 line), how much this is word is common (1-1000 score), and 1 short sentence to each of the following forms: interrogative, negative, present, present perfect, past and future for the word "x"

For example, I sent for ChatGPT this prompt using the word unevenly, see the output:

Output example from ChatGPT using the above prompt

If the word's score is below 400, usually I skip the word and gonna find another one more common.

With that, I select some few sentences which represents for me a sentence I know the whole phrase except the unevenly word and I create the flash card itself.

Thanks for reading.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jokergiftcard profile image
jokergiftcard

woww