DEV Community

Tiberius Mairura
Tiberius Mairura

Posted on • Updated on

Youbified - Implementing a LiveStream API

A few days a go, I set out on a journey to develop a web application that can help users manage live streams. The application should allow the user to:

  1. Create new live stream
  2. Fetch live stream events
  3. Delete live stream events
  4. Update live stream events

Now, that definitely rings a bell, right?
Image description
Oh yeah CRUD!

Preparation

Since I did not want to build everything from scratch, I mean I still love sleeping, I did a deep and wide internet search (joking) for an API to kick start my progress.

API - An application programming interface, or API, enables companies to open up their applications' data and functionality to external third-party developers, business partners, and internal departments within their companies. This allows services and products to communicate with each other and leverage each other's data and functionality - IBM

The first place I landed is Google's YouTube Data API v3. I said, "YAAHS! This must be it!"

So I quickly unbound my programming tools, dusted them clean and off I started to gradually bite into the API internals.

Did I succeed with the YouTube Data API v3?

Oh no! I did not! After 2 years, I mean 2 days of grinding the API Docs, I still could not be able to come up with an MVP.
Image description

To say the least, the Docs are loaded with info each refering to another doc and then to another, to another, to another. On top of that, the API has some parts deprecated. This was quite annoying especially with the Google Sign In and Authentication where you meet the dreaded gapi and gsi, at least in my opinion. If you are lucky to authenticate, you have to again load the client before being taken to the table of bounties, the Live-streaming itself. Well, I honestly read a lot about the API but I couldn't just implement what was in the docs. Perhaps I need to re-sharpen my doc munching skills or it may be the case that the API is archaic and just poorly documented. Overall, it was a humbling experience.

Do we give up?

No! I love sleeping but no we can't just give up at a first blow to the nose-bridge from a random stranger... I mean we can take a nap once in every few minutes but we have to reach our destiny.

Help comes

Then when I was just about to wrap my tools for another long and undisturbed slumber, I stumbled upon LiveStream API!
Image description

Now, I can't claim that they have the best LiveStream API ever but their documentation is honey... I mean it is surprisingly clear, succinct and well, easy to bite and chew.

Execution

After my attempts to use the API on the front end failed, I decided to add NodeJS to appease the Lords and gods of programming.

What I need?

Well, all I needed is to install axios, express, body-parser well let me just show how my project structure and then we can have a look at my package.json.

Project structure

Image description

Honestly, this is is not the best structure but it served the purpose. I am still working on that. You can share some tips on what you think is a good way to structure your project in the comments.

package.json

Image description
Ahaha I thought the list was longer than this but yeah... It seems LiveStream API is quite economical. It is a nice way to greet a great sleeper like me.

Ahaha what is my backend like?

Well, as I mentioned before, I did not build everything from scratch. After importing the basic stuff as follows in my index.js file:

const express = require("express");
const axios = require("axios").default;
const bodyParser = require("body-parser");
const path = require("path");
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I started to create the main endpoints:

  • This endpoint should fetch and display the index.html. It is the only html file in the entire app.
app.get("/", (req, res) => {
  res.sendFile(path.join(__dirname, "../index.html"));
});
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • This endpoint should create a new stream event and return an Object containing all the info about the livestream
// Create a livestream
app.get("/create", (req, res) => {
  const options = {
    method: "POST",
    url: "https://api.liveapi.com/live_streams",
    headers: {
      Accept: "application/json",
      Authorization:{
        username: YOUR,
        password: YOUR
      }
    },
  };

  axios
    .request(options)
    .then(function (response) {
      let data = response.data;
      res.send(data);
    })
    .catch(function (error) {
      console.error(error);
    });
});
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • This endpoint returns an array of objects containing all created streams.
app.get("/streams", (req, res) => {
  const options = {
    method: "GET",

    url: "https://api.liveapi.com/live_streams",

    headers: {
      Accept: "application/json",
      Authorization:{
        username: YOUR,
        password: YOUR
      }
    },
  };

  axios
    .request(options)
    .then(function (response) {
      res.send(response.data);
    })
    .catch(function (error) {
      console.error(error);
    });
});

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • This endpoint returns an API whose id has been provided.
app.get("/streams/:id", (req, res) => {
  let id = req.params.id;
  const options = {
    method: "GET",

    url: `https://api.liveapi.com/live_streams/${id}`,

    headers: {
      Accept: "application/json",
       Authorization:{
        username: YOUR,
        password: YOUR
      }
    },
  };

  axios
    .request(options)
    .then(function (response) {
      res.send(response.data);
    })
    .catch(function (error) {
      console.error(error);
    });
});

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • This endpoint allows the use to update an existing stream whose id has been provided.
app.patch("/streams/:id", (req, res) => {
  let id = req.params.id;
  const options = {
    method: "PATCH",
    url: `https://api.liveapi.com/live_streams/${id}`,
    headers: {
      Accept: "application/json",
      "Content-Type": "application/json",
       Accept: "application/json",
       Authorization:{
        username: YOUR,
        password: YOUR
      }
    },
    data: { enabled: true },
  };

  axios
    .request(options)
    .then(function (response) {
      res.send(response.data);
    })
    .catch(function (error) {
      console.error(error);
    });
});
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • This endpoint deletes a stream whose id has been provided.
app.delete("/streams/:id", (req, res) => {
  let id = req.params.id;
  const options = {
    method: "DELETE",
    url: `https://api.liveapi.com/live_streams/${id}`,
    headers: {
      Accept: "application/json",
       Authorization:{
        username: YOUR,
        password: YOUR
      }
    },
  };

  axios
    .request(options)
    .then(function (response) {
      res.send(response.data);
    })
    .catch(function (error) {
      console.error(error);
    });
});
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Well I almost forgot to start the server...


app.listen(port, () => {
  console.log(`Server listeining at port ${port}`);
});
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Done! By the grace of the programming gods, the backend should work nicely.

Frontend

The app.js file basically makes fetch calls to the above endpoints. It then disassembles the data objects and injects the data to appropriate pieces of it to the to the index.html file.

Landing Page Screenshot

Youbified Home page

LiveStream Page Screenshot

Youbified Home page

To this end, the wise men can rightfully claim that there is light at the end of the tunnel... I mean assuming no one snicked into the tunnel with a smartphone or a torch.

Now since lots of talk don't help John become a wise man, I have added links where you can get to learn more about the application.

Github Repository

Find the repo here

Live Demo on Youtube

You can see the live demo on Youtube

Sorry for the background noise... kids.

Live Link

  • Click this link to view the live application.

Respect!

Image description

If you are still around, I have to say that you are very strong. Now let us wrap our tools and get some sleep.

Oh! Almost forgot... I will still go back and try to get the YouTube API working. If you have succeeded in implementing it, kindly share your victory here.

Also if you know any live-streaming API that you have tried, share.

And also on the folder structure, what is your idea of the best folder structure?

Top comments (0)