DEV Community

Cover image for From Chaos to Clarity: How Kanban Transformed My Daily Routine
Hisham Elamir
Hisham Elamir

Posted on

From Chaos to Clarity: How Kanban Transformed My Daily Routine

I am a Machine Learning Engineer and my life is going well, but lately I am feeling that there's a big time issue on my day and I have a lot in my mind that I end my day without finishing it, so I tried a work management technique which is agile to transform my life.

Introduction

I used to live in a constant state of chaos. My days were a blur of unfinished tasks, missed deadlines, and a growing sense of frustration.

I felt overwhelmed and disorganized, unable to keep up with the demands of both my personal and professional life. Then, I discovered Kanban—a simple yet powerful system that transformed my daily routine from chaos to clarity.

Beside this article and the upcoming ones, I wrote a free book to describe every single essence and technique I try with good and bad results and feedbacks, here's the link: https://leanpub.com/kanban_your_life


The Turning Point: Discovering Kanban

Kanban, a Japanese term meaning "signboard" or "billboard", was originally developed by Toyota in the 1940s to optimize production processes.

I watched historical movie about Toyota, and actually I learnt a lot of things that can help to make work/life more productive.

The core idea is to visualize work and manage it efficiently by moving tasks through different stages of completion. Inspired by its success in manufacturing and software development, I decided to apply Kanban principles to my own life.


Setting Up My Personal Kanban Board

Creating my personal Kanban board was the first step towards regaining control over my daily routine. Here's how I did it:

  • Choosing the Medium: I opted for a physical whiteboard, but you can also use digital tools like Trello or Asana.
  • Defining Columns: I divided the board into three columns: "To Do," "In Progress," and "Done." This simple structure allowed me to categorize my tasks and visualize my workflow.
  • Adding Tasks: I wrote down all my tasks on sticky notes and placed them in the "To Do" column. This included everything from work projects to household chores.
  • Limiting Work-in-Progress (WIP): To avoid feeling overwhelmed, I set a limit of three tasks in the "In Progress" column at any given time. This helped me focus on completing tasks before starting new ones.

The Transformation: From Overwhelm to Organized

The impact of implementing Kanban was immediate and profound. Here are some of the key benefits I experienced:

  • Clarity and Focus: Visualizing my tasks on the Kanban board reduced mental clutter and provided a clear overview of my workload. I could see at a glance what needed to be done, what was in progress, and what was completed.
  • Improved Productivity: By limiting my work-in-progress, I was able to concentrate on finishing tasks more efficiently. This reduced the stress of multitasking and increased the quality of my work.
  • Motivation and Satisfaction: Moving tasks from "To Do" to "Done" gave me a tangible sense of progress and accomplishment. This visual feedback loop kept me motivated and encouraged me to keep going.
  • Better Time Management: The structure of the Kanban board helped me prioritize tasks and manage my time more effectively. I developed a habit of sticking to deadlines and meeting my goals.
  • Work-Life Balance: Using separate boards for work and personal tasks allowed me to manage both areas of my life without feeling overwhelmed. I was able to allocate time for family, hobbies, and self-care.

Practical Tips for Using Kanban in Daily Life

If you're considering implementing Kanban in your own life, here are some practical tips to get started:

  1. Start Simple: Begin with a basic board and a few columns. You can always add more complexity as you become comfortable with the system.
  2. Be Consistent: Use the Kanban board daily and update it regularly. Consistency is key to reaping the benefits of the system.
  3. Set Realistic WIP Limits: Experiment with different WIP limits to find what works best for you. The goal is to avoid overwhelm and maintain focus.
  4. Break Down Tasks: Divide larger tasks into smaller, manageable steps. This makes it easier to track progress and stay motivated.
  5. Review and Adapt: Regularly review your board and make adjustments as needed. Kanban is meant to be flexible and adaptable to your changing needs.
  6. Share Results: One of the things that made me do commit on this hard lifestyle is sharing, I shared with smaller circle of friends and discussed with them the daily blockers.

Conclusion

Kanban transformed my daily routine from a state of chaos to one of clarity and control. By visualizing my tasks, limiting work-in-progress, and managing my workflow, I was able to boost my productivity, reduce stress, and achieve a better work-life balance.

If you're feeling overwhelmed and disorganized, I encourage you to give Kanban a try and write a small comment to discuss you ideas of enhancement. It might just be the solution you need to bring order to your life and help you reach your full potential.

Beside this article and the upcoming ones, I wrote a free book to describe every single essence and technique I try with good and bad results and feedbacks, here's the link: https://leanpub.com/kanban_your_life

Top comments (0)