DEV Community

Cover image for 🪽Contributor Post🪽
Udayan Sharma
Udayan Sharma

Posted on

🪽Contributor Post🪽

Intro

Hey there! I'm Udayan, you guys must know me by then after seeing my first post here lol. It's my first Hacktoberfest and here's my Github:

hollermay (Udayan Sharma) · GitHub

Still Here. hollermay has 19 repositories available. Follow their code on GitHub.

favicon github.com

Highs and Lows

This month has been both rewarding and challenging, with some realistic issues I faced, particularly related to using push and pull requests on GitHub.

Accomplishments and Light-Bulb Moments:

Push and Pull Requests Mastery: I've been actively working on open-source contributions, and I had a significant accomplishment when I mastered the intricacies of push and pull requests on GitHub. Understanding the workflow, forking repositories, creating branches, making changes, and submitting pull requests effectively was a light-bulb moment for me. It's a fundamental skill for anyone in software development.

Code Review Skills: Another noteworthy achievement was developing strong code review skills. Providing constructive feedback and contributing to code quality improvements within an open-source project was fulfilling. It was a reminder of the power of collaboration and learning from other developers.

Effective Collaboration: I had a light-bulb moment in realizing the importance of effective collaboration. Communicating with maintainers and other contributors, resolving issues, and working together across time zones was a valuable skill I developed.

Challenging Problems:

Merge Conflicts: I encountered a real headache when dealing with merge conflicts in a particularly complex pull request. It was initially frustrating as I struggled to understand and resolve the conflicts without causing unintended issues.

Setting up a Development Environment: In one project, I faced difficulties in setting up my development environment to work on a new feature. Configuring dependencies and ensuring the project compiled and ran smoothly was a more challenging task than I anticipated.

Adaptation and Problem-Solving:

For the merge conflicts, I sought assistance from experienced contributors and maintainers. Through their guidance and tutorials, I gradually learned how to resolve conflicts effectively. This experience taught me the importance of patience and persistence in dealing with common issues in software development.

Regarding the development environment setup, I decided to document my own setup process once I figured it out. This way, I not only overcame the challenge but also contributed to the project's documentation, making it easier for others to get started.

In summary, this month, I experienced both achievements and realistic challenges in the world of software development, particularly in mastering GitHub workflows. These practical experiences helped me grow as a developer and reinforced the importance of collaborative problem-solving and documentation.

Growth

Before Hacktoberfest 2023, my skillset primarily revolved around software development and open-source contributions. I had experience in various programming languages and tools, and I was comfortable with version control systems like Git. However, my experience with contributing to open-source projects was limited.

Through my participation in Hacktoberfest 2023, I gained several key improvements to my skillset:

Open Source Contribution Skills: Hacktoberfest encouraged me to get more involved in open-source projects. I learned how to fork repositories, create branches, make changes, and submit pull requests. This hands-on experience enhanced my understanding of the open-source development process.

Collaboration and Communication: I improved my ability to collaborate with other developers on a global scale. I learned how to communicate effectively with maintainers and contributors in different time zones, addressing issues, and working together to improve the projects.

Problem-Solving: Contributing to open source often involves tackling complex issues. I honed my problem-solving skills by understanding and fixing various bugs, adding new features, and optimizing code.

Code Review: Through code reviews and feedback from experienced maintainers, I learned how to assess and improve code quality. This skill is not only valuable for open-source contributions but also for professional development work.

Time Management: Juggling my regular commitments with Hacktoberfest taught me how to manage my time efficiently. It was crucial to balance my contributions with work or other personal projects.

Community Engagement: Participating in Hacktoberfest introduced me to a vibrant and supportive open-source community. I learned the importance of giving back and helping others through discussions, mentoring, and assistance.

Regarding my learning and career goals, Hacktoberfest had a significant impact:

Increased Open Source Involvement: After experiencing the benefits of open-source contributions during Hacktoberfest, I am more motivated to continue contributing to open-source projects. This will not only help me improve my skills but also expand my network and make a positive impact on the software community.

Career Growth: My involvement in Hacktoberfest helped me recognize the value of contributing to open source for career growth. I intend to include open-source contributions as a central aspect of my professional portfolio, which can enhance my job prospects and provide opportunities for personal development.

Diverse Skill Set: The exposure to different projects and technologies during Hacktoberfest encouraged me to diversify my skill set. I am more inclined to explore new technologies, programming languages, and domains to become a well-rounded developer.

In summary, my participation in Hacktoberfest 2023 significantly improved my open-source contribution skills, broadened my skill set, and influenced my career and learning goals. I now see open source as a powerful tool for personal and professional growth, and I'm eager to continue my journey in this direction.

See my Prs:

1:

Newsletter #64

This merge resolves issue #25 which includes:

  1. Toast notification on landing page with a timeout of 10 seconds.
  2. A section with a form for subscribing to newsletter with an image of pragyan rover
  3. Added functionality to JS, CSS

2:

certificate-folder #31

added 6 certificate template files with added guides and resolves the issue number #16

3:

4:

Improvised admin, teacher dashboard #32

This pull request reloves issue no. #22 and issue no. #23

it contains:

  1. Admin Dashboard
  2. Teacher Dashboard
  3. You can see timetable, mark attendence of students and provide results to students from teacher dashboard
  4. You can see new entries of students, add timetable and check fees of students from admin dashboard

5:

Student dashboard improvised #15

This pull request fixes issue #2
Hey are the key features:

  1. Added sections where you can add and remove course
  2. Added a d profile section to change your name and email and save the changes.
  3. Additional features in dashboard to show assignment deadlines, grades and announcements. I hope after you pull this request, this dashboard will make your website more attractive and functional :) Screenshot (118)

Top comments (0)