DEV Community

Ian
Ian

Posted on

How to setup remote repo in shared hosting

Hi,

I just installed git on my mac, now I want to be able to push my local repo to my shared hosting.
The shared hosting has git installed, now I am wondering how I have to set it up to be able to push my local repo to the shared hosting server.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Hi Ian,

what you are looking for is "git remote add" and then "git push".

The first commands tells your local git repository where is the remote one and the second syncs your code from your local repository to the remote repository.

In order:

  • find out what's the URL of the remote repository
  • use "git remote add" to add it to the list in your local repo
  • use "git push" to send the code upstream

You can find a guide here: git-scm.com/book/en/v2/Git-Basics-...

Collapse
 
ian profile image
Ian

Hi,

Thank you for you answer, I am not sure which URL to use since this is a shared hosting server.

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Is there any public documentation I might look at?

What's the hosting server?

Thread Thread
 
ian profile image
Ian

It is an own server running froxlor.
The user has SSH access and a domain pointing at /var/customers/webs/USERNAME
In his documentroot (/var/customers/webs/USERNAME) there is a .git folder.

Thread Thread
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

Ah ok! So you need git + ssh.

Assuming you have the rights to access that folder, it should be something like this:

git remote add origin ssh://username@host/var/customers/webs/username/folder.git

Thread Thread
 
ian profile image
Ian

Works, thank you!