DEV Community

Ian Knighton
Ian Knighton

Posted on

PagerDuty Change Events from Azure Release Pipelines

As our team and our architecture has grown, so has the need for better managed and streamlined systems. A big push we've been making in the last few months is Incident Management and On Call Scheduling. At this point I think we've tried every tool/combination of tools and we're finally settling in with PagerDuty.

For me, one of the big selling features of PagerDuty was the ability to add change events to your services. The forensics of an incident are a lot easier if you can quickly rule a recent release out of the realm of possibility. It's also helpful to know how often and frequently releases are happening to a certain service.

Unfortunately, Azure DevOps didn't really have anything out of the box to send POST requests to an API when a release finishes. I also couldn't find anything in their marketplace that would fill the need I had.

So I made something.

It's a very simple extension for Azure Pipelines and Releases that allows you to send an update to the service in PagerDuty. If you want to configure it to do so, it will send an event message for every state (succeeded, failed, canceled) and most of the fields are customizable to do whatever you need with them.

PagerDuty Change Event Screenshot

I know that this is probably a very narrowcast post. I can't help but think this isn't an original idea or need, so I wanted to put it out there to the community in case anyone can find uses for it in their own environment.

It's also been a hot minute since I've contributed here in any meaningful way, so consider this a toe dipped back into the water just before my three year anniversary.

Top comments (0)