DEV Community

Cover image for Finding Inspiration in Unexpected Places: How My Friend's Success Motivated Me to Pursue Tech Skills
Olonts
Olonts

Posted on

Finding Inspiration in Unexpected Places: How My Friend's Success Motivated Me to Pursue Tech Skills

As the COVID-19 pandemic led to lockdowns and remote work becoming more prevalent in 2020, I saw an opportunity to make some quick money by investing in what seemed like online investment schemes. I fell for the Ponzi schemes hook, line, and sinker, and made good money during that time. I even treated myself to the latest iPhone, the iPhone 11, which was a status symbol for me. It felt like a big win, and I was enjoying my financial stability without realizing the need to invest in my own skills for the future.

Looking back, I realized that investing in a tech skill would have been a wiser move, given the shift towards remote work. But I was complacent, content with my earnings from the Ponzi schemes. It wasn’t until I caught up with a friend during a school break in 2021 that I was forced to rethink my life choices.

My friend had started learning graphic design and landed a job with a modest monthly pay of 300,000 naira. At first, I shrugged it off, thinking the pay was too low and saying, “I don’t think I would work for anybody.” But as we continued talking, I realized that my friend’s success was not something to be taken lightly. This was a friend I went to school with, and we even started learning website development together. Now he was a graphic designer making a significant monthly salary, while I had no job, no stable income, and no clear plan for my future. I felt empty, but I didn’t let him know. I acted normal, but deep down, I was inspired.

My friend’s success became my motivation to take tech skills seriously. He had no idea that he had become a source of inspiration for me, and I found myself telling everyone I met about my friend earning 300,000 naira monthly. I mean, I remember him telling me how he would scout for the best deals on snacks, negotiate with the vendor, and then sell them at a markup during the night prep sessions. I was genuinely happy for him, but at the same time, I felt foolish for not following a similar path.

Despite the initial shock, I acknowledged the need to step up my own game. I resolved to be more focused and determined in pursuing my own goals. While I cheered on my friend’s accomplishments, I also drew inspiration from his achievements and sought ways to enhance my own prospects.

Fast forward a few months, and I landed a job in the tech industry as well. It wasn’t easy, and I had to work hard to build my skills and network, but eventually, I found a job that aligned with my interests and offered a stable income. It was a major turning point for me. I learned from my friend’s example and realized the value of investing in tech skills and pursuing a career in a field that was in demand, especially in the era of remote work and digital transformation.

Now, I’m excited about my job and the opportunities it presents. I’m constantly learning and growing, and I’m grateful for the motivation my friend provided. I no longer chase after get-rich-quick schemes, but instead, I focus on building a solid foundation for my career. I’ve also started exploring entrepreneurial endeavors on the side, inspired by my friend’s success. I’m determined to create my own success story and share it with others

Lessons Learned:

  • Be cautious of get-rich-quick schemes, such as Ponzi schemes, and avoid falling for them.

  • Invest in your own skills and education for future career prospects, especially in fields that are in demand.

  • Surround yourself with motivated and successful individuals who can inspire and motivate you to achieve your own goals.

Top comments (0)