DEV Community

Ferry
Ferry

Posted on • Updated on

Today I learn Django #1

I do have some prior knowledge in python, but only at intermediate level. And I want to go further with this knowledge. So today I starting my adventure to learn Django.

What I learn today is the basic thing about Django, like the Django feature, how to start a project, how to make an app and the function of some file in my Django project do.

Please CMIIW.

 

Some of Django feature:

  • Object-relational mapping (ORM),
    • ORM is related to database queries and database schema.
  • URL routing,
  • HTML templating,
  • Form handling,
  • Unit testing.

 

Project and App

At the beginning of I got confused about the term django project and django app.

What is the different?
After re-learn about it I got something. So in one project can have more than one app. Like if I try to create a web project, inside that project I can have forum app and blog app that work together in single project.

For me, an easy way to understand it is like this -> django project is a building, and the app is a room inside the building. Like one building can have more than one rooms right?

That's it for now. See you again tomorrow. Bye bye~

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
codereviewdoctor profile image
Code Review Doctor

I think I can be useful for your journey: django.doctor

There you can find learning material, and a helpful bot that can review your code.

You mentioned ORM. Have a go at django.doctor/challenge/database-q...