DEV Community

Cover image for Automating my Portfolio
Manikanta
Manikanta

Posted on

Automating my Portfolio

Goal

So, I've been thinking to showcase my skills in a single go and I've been meaning to use various new features of GitHub like actions, projects, static hosting, etc., and doing all these together in creating my own portfolio seems like a good idea to me.

“Talk is cheap. Show me the code.” ― Linus Torvalds

Source Code

Process

I have written a React application with custom webpack config, tests that can verify code on every pull request to make sure nothing breaks, automated release on main(develop) branch to gh-pages(master branch as this default repository).

Since Github can host static content for .github.com on master, my deployment was made to the master branch.

I made sure my CI reports to Coveralls, code factor, and integrate dependabot to raise automatic PRs for updating dependencies. Each PR runs test cases using GitHub Actions and a dispatcher workflow that can deploy code to master branch after building the code. I also run semantic release to automate much of release management(generating tags, changelogs, source code etc.,)

End Result

Overall it is a fun project for me to use so many tools to do something cool.

GitHub source

Top comments (0)