DEV Community

Cover image for Project Explained
Nova's Knowledge
Nova's Knowledge

Posted on

Project Explained

Hi Everyone,
Welcome to my first blog post.

My real name is Samuel. I am a junior at Penn State University. I am studying Information Sciences and Technology (a mix of IT and computer science kind of) and also Telecommunications (another way of saying how your phone works, this is what I tell my friends). I am looking to pursue a career in either project management, consulting, or something to do with networks (still figuring that one out).

Understanding ever-changing technology has always excited me. My goal is to gain a better understanding of new technology and 5G networks. Along with my love for technology, I have always had a passion for helping and working with people. I am an extrovert at heart. I enjoy working on team projects but can also work in a quiet environment to complete a solo task.

Over the course of the past five years, I have worked at a country club as an outdoor service staff member. While working at the country club, I have also developed a fondness towards golf. This job has taught me an excellent work ethic, responsibility, and above par communication skills. I also enjoy working out, traveling, and videography. Another hobby of mine is Twitch streaming.

Microsoft Project

Over the past year, there have been a few things I have picked up with all my free time. One of these new hobbies included how Microsoft Project worked in greater detail. The semester before, I learned the basics of what it is, and how to properly use it. I found myself very interested in this application, and excited to use it in my future.

I have about a semester length of experience using this application. I still have a lot to learn on how to use the software to its fullest extent, but for now, I want to share the knowledge that I do know. This is a very important application to understand, especially if you plan on going into project management one day.

The easiest way I could describe this would be it's an over complicated schedule. Teams use it to know when their deliverables must be finished and how much time they have. One creates a WBS to shorten the project into smaller deliverables that the client requests.

I explain the basics of Microsoft Project in the video below.

My Channel: Nova's Knowledge

My First Video:THE BASICS OF MICROSOFT PROJECT

Over the next few months, I am really looking forward to learn more about GitHub and web design. I have always had a creative mindset toward editing pictures and videos, and now I want to do the same with websites.

I look forward to growing with all of you and learn the art of technology together!!!

Top comments (0)