DEV Community

Michael Learns
Michael Learns

Posted on

Most Memorable Moment in Your Job

Let's walk down through memory lane and remember our most memorable moment in our jobs. Good or bad, we have learned and grown, we laughed and cried.

My Most Memorable Moment

My most memorable moment would be that time when I wrote a code for a function that I knew I would need in the future. I left that project after a while and was assigned to another one.

The code was like a function that did some cleaning on the data queried from a database. It was pretty complex (not the best well-written code).

A few months later, I was brought back into the project to continue my unfinished tasks. I later encountered a problem that was quite complex. Reading my code from a few months back (with no proper documentation!! how dare me to myself?? 😭) I was already lost.

Luckily, that function that I knew I would need was documented. I had forgotten I had written a code for myself in the future, and when I read the short doc about the function, I then recalled that it was the very solution I needed for my problem. I laughed so hard (internally ofc πŸ˜…) because past self predicted how well my future self would forget and need the very same solution.

So the lesson is, always right proper documentation and write clean and readable code. πŸ€”

What's yours? Can't wait to hear them!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
naz profile image
Nazim Jamil-Mir • Edited

On a Facebook app project that was as chaotic and as absurd as you could imagine (think Ad agency, mobile phone client with £££ to waste spend, a recent acquisition and a very junior creative team). We are nowhere near complete, it's three hours before go-live and the senior engineer, against a background of Coke cans, turns to me and says...

We're fu**ed

What a moment.

Collapse
 
imronlearning profile image
Michael Learns

Hahahaha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ WHY CAN I IMAGINE THAT??
Can I insert gifs here? Hahaha πŸ˜‚Hilarious!!

Collapse
 
recursivefaults profile image
Ryan Latta

I'll write it up as a post, but here's the teaser:

I saved a 76 million dollar project by rewriting its security 6 hours before a contractual deadline.

Collapse
 
imronlearning profile image
Michael Learns

Woah! Hahaha πŸ˜‚ that's tight! Can't wait to read about it πŸ˜‚