DEV Community

Matt Eland
Matt Eland

Posted on • Originally published at killalldefects.com on

Kill all Defects Launched!

I’ve launched KillAllDefects.com to offer a central place for my ideas and experiments on software quality.

Screenshot of the Kill All Defects landing page, featuring various articles on Software Quality.

So, what’s Kill All Defects about? In short, it’s all about exploring ways to improve the quality of the software we develop.

I’ll be exploring ways of improving .NET and JavaScript technologies to improve reliability, identify defects quickly, and guarantee the greatest degree of software quality.

I’ll be talking about unit testing, test plans, strategies for handling risk and defects, as well as soft skills and techniques for working with management to ensure all organizational needs are met as best as possible – from addressing tech debt to reducing support incidents to meeting strategic goals.

I’ll also be talking about software architecture and the role it plays in software quality, from layer and service design to DevOps, CI/CD Pipelines, and deployment techniques.

Why?

So, what triggered all this? I had been working on slides for my talk at CodeMash and I came to the end of the deck and realized I had so much more I wanted to share with people. People needed a single memorable link to learn more about software quality.

I was also reading Technical Blogging 2nd Edition at the time. This book discusses the benefits of launching on your own blogging site. I had been reading to improve my articles, but the advice rang true. I decided to take the plunge and launch my own site, and so KillAllDefects.com was born.

My goal is to provide a central place to explore ways to improve the quality of the software we develop.

What’s Next?

I’m still going to be posting my content to dev.to and Medium as usual, and promoting it via Twitter and, occasionally, LinkedIn, so really what’s changing is that now I have one point of origin for everything.

Let me know what you think and what you’d like me to cover.

I’m excited to double-down on technical writing and to continue to explore ways of improving our software and teams.

The post Kill all Defects Launched! appeared first on Kill All Defects.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
negue profile image
negue

Since .Net and JavaScript (Typescript) is completely my jam, also code quality xD, this blog is now bookmarked.

Guess I'll need to read some posts now ha.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I need to get more into writing on TypeScript. I've had so much to share on .NET recently it dwarfs the TS / JS content, but trust me - more is coming!