DEV Community

inversemetric
inversemetric

Posted on

Kubernetes CI/CD - my experience

Kubernetes has been fun to learn!
EXCEPT for CI/CD.

Here's some constructive criticism: Out of all the tools I've tried, they all have such awful developer experience, that after weeks of failed attempts I chose to build my own CI/CD server which I run on my local machine using github webhooks, ngrok, and a thin koa server that runs commands for me.

So far I've tried:

Jenkins X
Jenkins
GoCD
Flux
Brigade
Keel
Spinnaker
GitKube

Maybe it's the fact that I insist on never downgrading from Helm 3, or some of the tools are pretty fresh, but as a developer wanting to get my idea to market, I just don't have time to mess with tools that take multiple days to understand or set up.

I'm writing this as feedback, because I don't think I'm the only one. Something else that desperately needs addressed is that docker in docker doesn't just automatically work for building images, which may have contributed to my failed experiences with the tools above.

Top comments (0)