DEV Community

Jillian B
Jillian B

Posted on

Nevertheless, @iosjillian Coded

I began coding because...

Neopets and MySpace gave me the space. Learning how to edit HTML/CSS to look exactly how I wanted was extremely cool, and valued by others. When I went to college, I majored in Computer Science 'cause I wanted make useful things out of letters and numbers (and I had seen pictures of Google's office in Zurich).

I'm currently hacking on...

5Calls (iOS), @kanyebutton, and PizzaButton (coming soon, will only be exciting for RxSwift ppl and drunk ppl)

I'm excited about...

The slow, painful death of ugly software with bad UX.

My advice for other women who code is...

Learn about Imposter Syndrome, learn the stats about implicit biases in the workplace, and don't throw out the first salary number.

Top comments (0)