DEV Community

Saurabh Sharma
Saurabh Sharma

Posted on

when native apps makes more sense than web apps

Native apps provide much better experience IMO.

everything from scrolling to smooth transition make the UX much better.

For which case making native apps makes more sense.

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
torpne profile image
Kevin McKenna

You do have to consider ease of support.

Deploying a web app that serves 2000 employees is infinitely easier than having 2000 employees moving to a new version and struggling with individual computer permissions, making sure dependencies are up to date, remote workers, that one employee using some weirdly custom computer, the employee who has so many apps open you waste hours troubleshooting etc.

Collapse
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

There can be problems with that

but I also don't like that your employees coming after weekend found the app completely changed they weren't expecting a change and now they can't do anything about it.

Collapse
 
torpne profile image
Kevin McKenna

I think we'd have to agree to disagree with that.

If I change my database to support some changes and a user logs in and tries to use a copy of the software that isn't necessarily up to date, I have to do all manner of checks for versioning before I let them even near the data.

Employees coming in to find things different is really just about communicating the changes ahead of time, then they don't have to DO anything, they just come in and it is all ready to go.

Thread Thread
 
itsjzt profile image
Saurabh Sharma

agreed. Change always happens and always being ready for it is the key

Collapse
 
hidinginthevoid profile image
Riley

Completely agree, when I started out, I built a "Hybrid web app" using AppBuilder (previously Icenium) and the app we turned out was awful, so many little hacks to get it working and how quick it slowed down! As you said the scrolling was hell, I regularly was able to scroll the whole app instead of just the list I was trying to move down. Despite my insistance, the company refused to let me use any form of Native system...

Collapse
 
victoredier profile image
Victor Edier

And not just UX, if you want to interact with devices like mobile printers is better go with native

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.