DEV Community

Natalia
Natalia

Posted on

What type of developer are you - light theme or dark theme?

A lot of people say frontend developers use dark themes for their code editors and light one are used by backend developers. Do you agree with that statement? And why do you like light/dark themes you are using?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
kartikv20 profile image
Kartik V

Really depends on the person.

For me, it's dark theme for everything(from twitter to VScode themes, haha). My eyes just can't deal with so much white on the screen lol

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

I think it's an overgenralization to say that specific groups of devs prefer specific themes.

As for me, dark themes all the way, but I also have an odd mix of idiopathic nystagmus, complex astigmatism, myopia, and light sensitivity that makes it much harder for me to read dark text on a light background.

Collapse
 
elilyly profile image
Elizabeth

I tried light theme on VSCode for a while because I liked the color palette. I changed to dark theme (It's called the Panda Theme) because it was easier on my eyes and I didn't feel like my eyes were straining anymore :) I also think it depends on the person whether they prefer light vs dark themes, and on the type of code editor they use. Maybe not all editors have the ability to change themes

Collapse
 
lordbars profile image
LordBars

I personally like Intellij's Light Theme. It is easier to navigate and focus. I mostly use it during the day. If my eyes burns out (often night), then I switch to Dark Theme. Besides that, this preference changes time to time.

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

Dark theme my eyes get for EVERYTHING(in the screen shot windows, chrome, intellij, and the android emulator.
Alt text of image

Collapse
 
firozansari profile image
Firoz Ansari

10x developers -> dark theme
1x developers -> light theme

/s

Collapse
 
tommyc profile image
Tommy

I've switched to light theme recently just because.