DEV Community

ItsSpirty
ItsSpirty

Posted on

Coding Journey Day 1

The Start

I'm still new to documenting my journey in coding but I'm going to give this a shot! I know I will be reading back at this and seeing how I've improved so I look forward to seeing me again in the future here and much improved!

How have I been learning?

Lets start with how I've been learning and my Journey!
I've started learning to code with a course on Udemy and things have been going well. I started this series a little bit later than when I had started with HTML with the course but it is still fairly recent in my progress.

How is HTML & what do I find hard right now?

Well, HTML so far has been fairly easy I've learned to make basic things such as Lists,Headers,Buttons and embedding links or images to show on my webpage. I have also learned about Forms, creating Tables, and things such as Radio buttons, check boxes & selects.

I grasped this stuff fairly well, but I'm not sure if it actually stuck they were not that difficult to comprehend but I'm worried about remembering them I would need to google these things to remember exactly how or what these things do, hell I might even forget all together what it is exactly I need without some research. But I assume that is normal to forget somethings, but it is when I actually get to work on my own personal project that I get to fully develop and remember the important aspects of Developing a website. So I do hope these things come naturally to me in the future!

Starting to learn CSS so I can utilize it with HTML

At this point, I moved onto learning CSS with the course curriculum. CSS has also been very easy, I assume things get difficult once i get to JavaScript. But CSS has actually been quite fun in realizing how I can adjust how the page looks by adjusting colors,fonts, and all sort of things. But still my main issue is remembering some of the stuff I'm learning but its all a progress!

How is CSS so far? What am I learning right now?

I'm currently learning Element Selectors and how to use these properly on my webpage. I had an assignment where I had to adjust the webpage based on how the instructions wanted it and I had to tinker with it for a little bit. I had overall done a good job throughout the small assignment but I had not realized that I had to use a # selector when selecting an ID.
Here is an example of the code I was working with so you can get an idea.

HTML
<button id="clear">Clear List</button>

CSS
#clear{
color:white;
background-color:red;
}

Here I was trying to make the button have a read background lettering but I was wondering why It was not working before, I was trying to use a .clear instead of #clear I was not sure that what exactly I had to use for ID when using selectors but after some research this is what I had realized. So I had learned for selecting ID I had to use #ID , and for selecting a class I had to use .class

The start of something BIG!

This is it for my day 1 into coding I hope those reading it can see my progress once I advance as I plan to do this throughout my whole journey, and hey maybe even one day a hiring manager would be looking at this, just know I am grateful if you are as so you can see just how I have progressed!
To me in the future, just look back on this and see how much you have come from your first day here until you land a job! I will see you then!

Top comments (0)