DEV Community

Rui Sousa
Rui Sousa

Posted on

[Question] how should I learn Elixir as a self-taught front-end developer?

Hi, developers πŸ‘‹
I'm a self-taught front-end developer so I don't have any CS degree fundamentals or any previous knowledge on back-end. Last week I started learning Elixir and my approach was to read the documentation but that seems a bad approach?

Do you have any useful tools or guides that might help me?
I've made the same question on Twitter so, if you feel like, you can also comment there for extra exposure and to help someone who might not have a dev.to account.

I appreciate any help in advance πŸ™

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ahferroin7 profile image
Austin S. Hemmelgarn

Just reading the docs won’t help as much with Elixir unless you have good context for the way the language itself works (that is, you have a solid understanding of FP and a decent understanding of the (at times strange courtesy of Erlang) syntax).

I’d suggest at minimum starting with their Getting Started guide. It’s not β€˜amazing’ by any means, but it’s a decent tutorial if you already have some coding experience (and it sounds like you do, even if it’s not backend experience).