DEV Community

Cover image for A Pure CSS 3D Maze! - Chrome only
Ben Evans
Ben Evans

Posted on

A Pure CSS 3D Maze! - Chrome only

🌎 100% Natural ingredients!
🚳 No images
πŸ“΅ No JavaScript
πŸ‘¨β€πŸ’» Just CSS - And a sprinkling of HTML

Like most CSS projects of mine, I had no idea whether this was possible before I started, and learnt some things along the way. I tried to keep the graphics a simple as possible to help with the animations and to fit with the retro vibe of the original 3D mazes from the 1990's. If you watch the YouTube about making it you can see the style to begin with was very different. I was thinking more like the style of Legend of Grimrock.
I'm happy with the familiar controls, the elevators (to make it more interesting), and the subtle depth shading... I'm not sure I've seen this done in 3D CSS Art before.

Anyway I hope you like it :)

πŸ’₯ CHROME ONLY!!

Firefox is okay but very slow.

Sorry Safari people πŸ₯Ί
πŸ’€ I've tried but it's just not going to happen :(

The making of:
πŸ“Ί youtu.be/Z0VHM4KcMFQ

First person to send me a screen shot of the end screen wins...
Your time starts now!!! 🏁

P.S. If you have any ideas how to help with Safari then please let me know x

πŸ”— linktr.ee/ivorjetski

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
marceloarraes profile image
Marcelo Arraes Teixeira

This is just amazing. Didn't know that this was possible either.. Would love to understand how to do 3d in css. Will search for it later..

Collapse
 
ivorjetski profile image
Ben Evans

:) thank you!

I think a good starting point, is what most people start with (including me), a 3D spinning cube. This is basically an extension of that but from the point of view of being inside the cube :)

Collapse
 
certifieddev19960101 profile image
certifieddev0101

Thank you for your wonderful article posting!!! I think this is very useful

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy πŸŽ–οΈ

Impressive work!
Done

Collapse
 
ivorjetski profile image
Ben Evans

Thank you :) Impressive work by you too! You found it! Well done!! πŸ₯³ You are the first on here! πŸŽ‰