DEV Community

Cover image for CTRL ALT ELITE --- A homage to 1984 Elite (Pure CSS Game)
Ben Evans
Ben Evans

Posted on

CTRL ALT ELITE --- A homage to 1984 Elite (Pure CSS Game)

Hello.

For no reason other than a CSS addiction, I am creating a Pure CSS version of a 1984 BBC Micro computer game Elite which inspired a number of subsequent games, like GTA, No Man's Sky, etc.

The original game squeezed into the 32k memory of a BBC. My Compiled CSS is about 12k so far so I don't have much left to recreate the entire universe like the original (not that I am going to).

https://codepen.io/ivorjetski/pen/MNPqex

I have used the checkbox accesskey attribute to make some of the original keys work but you need to hold down Alt, hence the name.

If anyone has any ideas of how I can make it better, please let me know...

  1. Should I stick to authentically recreating the original graphics where possible or bring it a bit more up-to-date in a stylish retro way?
  2. I'm probably going to put the keyboard controls instructions in the page rather than in the javascript box comments.
  3. Is the actual 3D laser a step too far? As in it uses to much GPU.

Oh yeah and it only works on Chrome at the moment.

Please let me know what you think.

Many thanks,

Ben.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
frossard profile image
Anderson Frossard

Hi. That is pretty impressive.
I had this game on my MSX 1.0 and your game look pretty much like the original one.
That game was a blast. Travelling between planets and solar systems was fantastic.