DEV Community

Cover image for My jorney to Cloud: day 1
João Pedro Silva
João Pedro Silva

Posted on

My jorney to Cloud: day 1

Today is the first day of many. I'm starting a new journey: The Journey to Cloud!

I'm a beginner developer with some knowledge in python, trying to get a new job as a cloud engineer, now focused on Google's cloud platform (GCP for friends). My objective is to follow the steps created by the cloud-influence (Idk if this is a thing) GPS, namely Gwen, and land a job as a freelancer in the area.

My first day

The truth is today isn't my first day because I'm studying some concepts around cloud computing for a while, learning Linux, Python, and the basics of GCP. So, following the book Linux For Hackers, I've been understanding the usages of Linux in the day-by-day activities, some of the then listed below:

  • Move between folders, create files, editing them via the terminal;
  • Adding and removing software from the system;
  • Finding and making terminal-based text searches with commands like cat, grep, find, sed, and so on;
  • Managing permissions and ownership on files and folders using chown for ownership and chmod for permissions to Read, Write and execute;
  • And, for now, manipulating running services with the commandctl, to know if they are running, stopped, and so forth.

The links for my studies items are below for documentation:

That's it, my diary from my first day of cloud Studying! I hope to accomplish my goals in the year 2023.

Top comments (0)