DEV Community

Cover image for What tool can you not live without?
Jean-Michel Plourde
Jean-Michel Plourde

Posted on

What tool can you not live without?

We all have a tool that is almost an extension of ourselves and not using it feels too weird. This thread is a great opportunity to discover new tools to power charge how you do things.

What is yours ?

Top comments (16)

Collapse
 
jesusgollonet profile image
jesús gollonet

I had to install a laptop from scratch a month ago.
I was surprised to find out just how big the list is.

This is my cannot-live-without Brewfile

cask "iterm2"
cask "1password"
cask "evernote"
cask "spectacle"
cask "vagrant"
cask "virtualbox"
cask "slack"
cask "dropbox"
cask "anki"

brew "vim"
brew "jq"
brew "tmux"
brew "fzf"
brew "terraform"
brew "packer"
brew "zsh"
brew "bash"
brew "z"
brew "node"
brew "reattach-to-user-namespace"
brew "ag"
brew "httpie"
brew "mosh"
brew "shellcheck"
brew "git-lfs"
brew "tree"
brew "pstree"
brew "coreutils"
brew "awscli"
brew "aws-shell"
Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

I didn't look at such file of mine, but I'm sure it is also big. Do you version control this file at all ?

Collapse
 
jesusgollonet profile image
jesús gollonet

Since that time I do.

github.com/jesusgollonet/dotfiles/...

Btw, It's not like i grabbed my brewfile just to throw a big list. I ran into needing all of those in probably the first day of using the computer.

Thread Thread
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

Yeah, I totally understand the necessity. There is a lot of things I use on an almost daily basis and my flow is broken if I don't have them.

Collapse
 
jbeetz profile image
J Beetz

Powershell for any type of enterprise management task.

For web dev type stuff, vscode with gitbash.

Vscode to write powershell scripts.

Bash scripts in vim on the linux side

Except for a hello world type experience, I haven't tried powershell core on linux yet. It looks promising though.

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

I had the chance to use VsCode for web dev last year. I loved it. I also use it to work on esp32 microcontrollers.

I also can't wait to try powershell core on linux. That Microsoft diving into open source is promising.

Collapse
 
jbeetz profile image
J Beetz

I haven't tried vscode with any of the arduino type microcontrollers yet. That sounds very interesting.

It was fun watching my coworkers face when I ran a remote get-process from a raspberry pi to my workstation.

Very different times from the Microsoft I started out with. I have to say it's very refreshing.

Collapse
 
lazzu profile image
Lasse

Git. It has saved the day so many times

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

I don't know how I could live without version control before. In fact, I worked for a branch of the gov who does not use any version control.

I even use git for all my uni code assignments so I save valuable time if I hope from a lab computer to my personal machine.

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

As a web developer, I definitly need the browser console! :)

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

Yes! Is the google console your favorite ? I'm really surprised how Firefox and Edge upped their console game.

Collapse
 
webdeasy profile image
webdeasy.de

Yes Google Chrome is the best.
But you're right: Firefox did also a good job!

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

I didn't know about ConEmu, it seems very great and handy. I'll give it a look.

I wish I knew Powershell more and especially when I was working as an IT tech, would have saved me a lot of time.

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

Mine is without a doubt vim. I just feel so slow without it. So much that I use vim everywhere I can: Intellij Idea, oh-my-zsh, Firefox, VsCode, Visual Studio, etc.