DEV Community

Cover image for Brain dump
Jack Le Hamster
Jack Le Hamster

Posted on

Brain dump

I've decided to start a new blogs series called "Brain dump".

One thing I realized, is that I need to keep some notes regarding my game development process, such as designs, feature ideas, etc...

I thought I was already doing that with my NAPL series, but it's not exactly the same. Before posting on NAPL, I more or less collect my thoughts, and try to put out coherent ideas that can be easily ingested by readers. So those posts are more polished, but most importantly, I only posts there once I'm convinced an idea will work and is worth sharing.

But there are many other ideas I need to jot down and I'm still unsure about. I need to work those out in an unpolished way until I'm sure they are worth posting on my main dev log.

But those ideas are still worth noting down:

  • I could just write those for myself in a physical notebook, but I don't have the discipline to carry such thing around.
  • I guess I could just save things locally, but if those are good ideas, why not just share it.
  • Initially, I was thinking I'll just dump them into a GitHub repo. That said, I don't have a nice way to format them. Also, I don't want to think about an extra tool to use just for ideas.

So I decided I'll just post them here on dev.to, and just keep that as a new series so it doesn't clobber my main dev log with too much random stuff.

Those will not be super polished posts, I will try my best to make them coherent for readers (also for myself, since I'll need to revisit my own notes later).

Top comments (0)