DEV Community

Cover image for How can I view console.log() statements when deploying a Next.js app on Vercel?
Jackson Kasi
Jackson Kasi

Posted on

How can I view console.log() statements when deploying a Next.js app on Vercel?

I have a Next.js app deployed on Vercel, and I need to view the console.log() statements when any server-side or client-side rendered page is called. I have noticed that I can see these logs when running the app locally in my terminal, but I cannot see them in Vercel's function logs.

I am specifically interested in viewing these logs to debug an issue where a page that works on my local system is resulting in a 504 error when deployed to Vercel. The page's API call never takes more than 3 seconds.

What are some ways to view these console logs in Vercel, or is there an alternative way to debug the 504 error that I am experiencing?

However, I am not able to see these logs in Vercel's function logs. Is there any other way to view these logs?

Image description

but I think this happens on a site called "favicon.ico`

This favicon.ico link opens/works on the local system next to dev mode. but in Vercel, this gives 504 errors.

Thank you for your help!

Top comments (0)