DEV Community

Cover image for How We Can Self-Study with ChatGPT (P1)
Jacky
Jacky

Posted on

How We Can Self-Study with ChatGPT (P1)

You will have more 24 hours day, why not?

As AI becomes increasingly popular with applications like ChatGPT, Claude, and Gemini, many people worry that AI might replace human jobs, potentially leading to unemployment.

However, I disagree.

From my experience using various Large Language Models (LLMs), I’ve found that they can effectively give us “more than 24 hours per day.” I believe AI will become an indispensable part of our lives, enhancing them rather than replacing us.

To be honest, I wrote this article myself, focusing on the main ideas and structure. I used AI as an assistant to review it, check grammar, and offer suggestions to improve sentences. And it’s free, unlike Grammarly! There are several ways I’ve been using ChatGPT and Claude recently to boost my work performance.

In fact, the very first project I built with AI was Helik – Your AI-Powered English Learning Assistant, designed to help learners improve their English, especially for IELTS preparation. More on that later, but now let's explore how AI can be an incredible tool for personal growth.

Improving English, especially for IELTS

I grew up in a developing country where English wasn’t a common part of the education system, even though it plays an essential role in career development. We didn’t spend as much time learning English as we did on science subjects, which left us with weaker language skills. Of course, this has changed for today’s Gen Z, with English becoming a second language in many places.

These days, I work in a multinational corporation with colleagues from various countries, so English is crucial for communication. Even with a busy schedule, I’ve realized the importance of dedicating time to improve my language skills, especially as I’m aiming for IELTS certification. While online English courses are helpful, teachers often can’t provide personalized feedback for every student, especially when it comes to writing and speaking, which require direct guidance.

That’s where ChatGPT comes in as a personalized learning assistant. It helps me review my essays, corrects grammar mistakes, and gives advice tailored to my writing style. This feels like the beginning of a new chapter in my learning journey!

Here are some use cases and prompts I’ve found helpful in my experience:

1. Essay Writing and Review

Use Case: Write IELTS Task 2 essays and get feedback.

I have written an IELTS Task 2 essay. Could you review it and suggest improvements for grammar and coherence?

Example Prompt:

"Here's my essay: [Insert your essay]. Could you provide feedback on grammar, sentence structure, and ideas?"

Benefits: ChatGPT offers detailed suggestions to improve clarity, corrects grammatical errors, and helps expand vocabulary.

2. Practicing Speaking with Role-Playing

Interact with ChatGPT to Learn Speaking

Use Case: Simulate IELTS speaking questions to practice fluency and confidence.

ChatGPT, let’s practice an IELTS Speaking Part 2 question. You play the role of the examiner and ask me the question. After I answer, provide a transcript of my response and give me advice on how I can improve

Example Prompt:

"Describe a time when you helped someone. You should say: who you helped, what you did, why you helped them, and how you felt about it.”

My response:

“I once helped my friend move to a new apartment. It was a busy weekend, but I wanted to assist because they had no other help. We spent the day packing and transporting things, and in the end, they were really grateful. It made me feel good to help a friend in need.”

ChatGPT Feedback:
”Your answer is clear and structured, but you can improve fluency by using linking words such as 'firstly,' 'then,' and 'finally.' You could also add more detail about what you packed and how the experience affected your friendship”

Benefits: ChatGPT offers follow-up questions and evaluates your speaking abilities, helping to build confidence before the actual test.

3. Vocabulary Building

Use Case: Expand your vocabulary to improve both speaking and writing skills.

Give me a list of advanced vocabulary related to technology (or any other topic), and explain how to use each word in a sentence.

Example Prompt:

"I want to improve my vocabulary for IELTS Writing. Can you suggest advanced words I can use for the topic of 'environmental protection'?"

Benefits: AI helps you learn new words in context, making it easier to remember and apply them in your writing and speaking.

4. Improving Grammar and Sentence Structure

Use Case: Correct complex sentences for fluency and grammatical accuracy.

Here is a complex sentence I wrote. Can you check its grammar and suggest a more natural way to phrase it?

Example Prompt:

"Here’s my sentence: 'Despite of the fact that I was tired, I went to the gym.' Could you correct it and explain why?"

Benefits: ChatGPT identifies errors in sentence construction and provides easy-to-understand explanations, making you aware of common mistakes.

A Lesson from the Past: The Third Industrial Revolution

As we face the rise of AI today, it's easy to fear being replaced. But this is not the first time humanity has faced such a challenge. During the Third Industrial Revolution in the late 20th century, when machines and computers began automating tasks, people worried they would lose their jobs. Factories filled with automated arms and computers that could process data at incredible speeds, leaving many workers unsure of their future.

But the world didn’t stop. Instead, those who adapted, learned new skills, and embraced the machines found themselves more valuable than ever before. They weren’t replaced—they evolved. Elena, a factory worker, was one such person. Instead of fearing automation, she learned how to operate and manage the machines, making her indispensable in her role.

The lesson is clear: AI, like the machines of the past, won’t replace us. It will transform the way we work and live, offering new opportunities for those who are ready to embrace and learn from it.

So, just like in the past, we must adapt. AI can free us from repetitive tasks, allowing us to focus on creativity, strategy, and innovation. And by using tools like ChatGPT, we can enhance our skills, making ourselves even more valuable in this ever-changing world.

In brief, By using AI tools like ChatGPT and Claude, I’ve found incredible ways to enhance my learning, streamline tasks, and boost productivity. This article marks the beginning of a series on how to use ChatGPT effectively across different areas of life—from learning new skills to improving work performance. Stay tuned for more insights and practical tips in the upcoming posts!

Follow my original article in Medium

Top comments (0)