DEV Community

Jacob Stern
Jacob Stern

Posted on • Updated on

Day 13 / 100 Days of Code

Sat, Jul 13, 2024

Today I began the last Codecademy lesson of the first course, Responsive Design. Now that all course material is new for me, my focus going forward will be on learning rather than hitting targets. I may not make JavaScript by Monday, but I'm going to responsively design my way to JavaScript as soon as possible!

The reason I've given Codecademy so much praise is not only that the lessons are thorough yet concise, but also they have practical exercises and bonus topics that serve as a basis for lessons and tie them together. For example, including UX in Web Development Foundations makes the course more spirited, plus I've seen at least a starter version of the topic, but also in terms of the learning process, it improves memorization to start with problem-solving, top-down, which is how I most like to work.

While macOS is the best development environment imo, most of my experience is with Windows and Linux. While I've made big strides learning macOS, occasionally, the Apple-isms can be frustrating. However, this MacBook has exceeded my expectations, and I'm looking forward to window snapping and AI features coming this fall in the next macOS release, Sequoia.

Regarding expectations for this 100 days of code challenge, I started on July 1, and anticipate taking about 120 days to complete Codecademy's Full-Stack Engineer certificate, so aiming for late October. My dashboard shows me at 12%.

Image description

Top comments (0)