DEV Community

Jacob Stern
Jacob Stern

Posted on

Day 51 / 100 Days of Code: Exploring the Versatility of JavaScript Functions

Tue, August 20, 2024

While I’d seen JavaScript arrow functions, I was unaware of the many ways to declare functions in JavaScript. These can be very compact, and there are also function expressions, which blend functions with variables. Despite JavaScript’s C/C+±inspired syntax, this feels far more modern.

Tomorrow, I’ll get to practice functions in a Rock, Paper, Scissors game and sleep quality calculator projects. I’m excited to see how these projects help me understand the practical applications of different function types in JavaScript.

There’s still a lot to learn. The various formats in JavaScript are mainly due to evolving language standards. I encountered this somewhat in C++, but JavaScript is under far more active development. Writing more recent JavaScript code will make a big impact on my coding style and grammar.

Fortunately, many of my distractions went away today, but I’m continuing using a Pomodoro timer and regular practice to maintain my pace.

Image description

Top comments (0)