DEV Community

Jayesh
Jayesh

Posted on

The stupidest mistake I have made.

The stupidest mistake I have made.

I work as a #software #engineer, and Version Control System(#VCS as we call it) is a basic part of my work life.

One day there was a feature break due to some code that I had pushed(Thankfully it was on stage environment only).

My Tech lead asked me to revert the PR and deploy the older version via #CI/CD(#jenkins basically).

It was the first time I was facing such an issue, I didn't know how to fix it, didn't even know how to revert the change on Git.

So, I googled it(why? because, "Parampara, Pratishtha, Anushasan" - DEV thing) and also asked my senior what to do by explaining the situation I was into, and I found something about REVERT in GIT. Now that was something I have never used in life.

So I created a PR to revert the changes which were causing the issue and I went on to check if everything works fine.

and for some reason it was working fine, I was like, well done Jayesh, You did it(I pat myself on the back if that matters), and, yeah, the world was again safe for the human race to exist.

And I notify the team about the same, "Hey, guys don't worry, everything is under control."

I was not so stupid, right?

but but but but... this was not the stupid part...(Hope your mind is not blown)

Somebody reported the same issue again... and I was like "How is this possible?", I have reverted the change.

Then my senior pointed out that we have to MERGE the revert PR to remove the change. Which I clearly hadn't merged yet, I had

created PR and checked on stages if the issue still exists, and since I couldn't reproduce the issue, I thought it was resolved, I thought it was because of the REVERT PR that I just had created. (Yes, yes, there you go... all laughing... hahaha).

So, that was the stupidest mistake I made during the first few months of my career.

and... THE END. The show is over, you can scroll yourself down to the next post.

.

.

.

.

.

.

Credit scene rolling

Oh, Yeah shared it, because, why not?

If people can share about their achievements they also should share their mistakes, Right?

Now these days we open LinkedIn, Instagram, or any other social media apps, People share (or brag) about their achievements(that's completely okay), but they also should share the incidences where they have made mistakes, they might have failed, fallen. So the person who's going through the same does not lose hope, does not feel like he/she is not enough, and that he/she is the one who makes mistakes/failed.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
andrewbaisden profile image
Andrew Baisden

You live and you learn.

Collapse
 
jaiiparmar profile image
Jayesh

I agree!