DEV Community

James Sessford
James Sessford

Posted on • Originally published at jamessessford.com on

Ubuntu setup

I'd set aside a couple of days to get my laptop fully up and running; I hadn't had much Linux experience outside of Raspbian and thought it may have been challenging to get the tools I was used to setup and working together. I was very happy to be proven wrong.

To get started, I grabbed the image of Ubuntu 16.04, burned it to a USB key and booted the machine into Ubuntu. After following the install steps through and unpinning everything from the Launcher that was attached, I was ready to start exploring!

Let's fast forward a couple of hours.

The laptop is now set up and running a test project I had configured on my Windows machine. The programs I have installed are:

- Git
- Terminator
- ZSH
- oh-my-zsh
- MySQL
- MyCLI
- PHP 5.6
- PHP 7.3
- Composer
- Node.js
- npm
- Supervisor
- VSCode
- Nginx
- Redis
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

I instantly feel like my productivity has increased with Terminator and Nginx alone. Terminator giving me split screen tabs is phenomenal, as is the tab less I now require from having a server run my applications instead of serving them via Artisan.

It's nice to also be able to use VSCode, Firefox and webpack without my computer freezing as well!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
venoel profile image
venoel • Edited

Hello. You can try tmux instead of Terminator.

Collapse
 
jamessessford profile image
James Sessford

Nice! I'll have to remember to give that a try, thanks!