DEV Community

Cover image for My New Portfolio Site
Jacob Welling
Jacob Welling

Posted on

My New Portfolio Site

What I built

I built a new portfolio web application with Python/Django. This will help me showcase my work and skills.

Category Submission:

Portfolio Website

App Link

https://www.jacobwelling.me

Screenshots

Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text
Alt Text

Description

This Portfolio website was built using Python/Django and deployed on DigitalOcean. It has a resume-like format showing my experience, skills, and education. In addition to this it has cards at the bottom where I can link to my other projects.

Link to Source Code

https://github.com/JAW1/myResume

Permissive License

MIT License

Background

As a student, it is sometimes hard to differentiate myself from all of the other applicants to different internships or jobs, I really wanted to have a place where I can show people what I have worked on in the past and give them an easy way to see my experience and skills.

How I built it

I first learned how to build Python/Django apps in my Business Programming class. I used what I had learned in that class to begin the creation of my app and get it mostly ready for deployment. In my experience, deploying a Django app can be really difficult. DigitalOcean's tutorial on how to deploy the app made it a lot more manageable. Deploying still took me quite a while because I'm definitely new to this sort of thing, but I really liked their simple way of explaining what I needed to do.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
meshamakes profile image
Mesha

This is a good looking site my friend, I like it and best wishes for the new year!

Collapse
 
jaw1 profile image
Jacob Welling

Thank you so much! You too!