DEV Community

Cover image for Healing The Rift Between Programmers And Managers
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»

Posted on • Updated on

Healing The Rift Between Programmers And Managers

It's common in many companies for there to be animosity between programmers and managers.

Earlier in my career I met many other software developers who loved to complain about management.

And I've been just as frustrated, especially when it seems like management doesn't know what they're doing.

But eventually after having several experiences talking to other programmers I respected, my perspective changed.

In this video I share some stories about software projects I have been on where I was challenged to be enlightened to continue.

I hope these stories help you think about what you can do to take the power of your career back into your own hands.

Subscribe for 90+ videos on healthy software development

Watch on YouTube πŸ“Ί

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
joshualjohnson profile image
Joshua Johnson

This is the same issue we deal with in any industry. At one point of my career I was a lineman. Linemen/Engineers didn't get along either. Its a tough problem to solve! Thanks for the video to shed some light on the subject.

Collapse
 
jaymeedwards profile image
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»

Hey Joshua thanks for your insight. That’s a good point. I’m only familiar with this dynamic in the tech industry, but I’m sure you’re right.

Collapse
 
papaponmx profile image
Jaime Rios

Thanks for sharing.

Collapse
 
jaymeedwards profile image
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»

Happy to, if I can help even one person avoid some of these mistakes I made in my career, it really makes me feel good!

Collapse
 
jaymeedwards profile image
Jayme Edwards πŸƒπŸ’»

I've been one of them! I try my best to be honest about my part in all of this in the video. Thanks for watching!