DEV Community

Cover image for Baby's first text-based horror game
Jemal Young
Jemal Young

Posted on

Baby's first text-based horror game

Gradient Descent is my final project for Codecademy's CS101 course; the assignment was to "build a basic terminal program of your choice", so I made a text-based horror game in the style of Choose Your Own Adventure.

This game is unfinished, and I hope to keep working on it as time allows.

Gradient Descent gameplay

The code has a lot of redundancy, especially for pacing and text effects. In hindsight, I could have created a few functions and just called those. I'd like to make that improvement. I'd also like to make the scenarios (decision_1(), decision_2()...) modular i.e. easily callable from one another, whereas right now the final-decision scenario is the only modular one. The game would ideally be a Möbius strip of flexible decision-making horror, until the player reaches a terminal state.

Link to the code on GitHub

This project taught me how easy it is to become fascinated by the siren song of low-hanging marginal improvements. I want to keep working on this damned script, there are so many problems with it and it could be so much better.

Top comments (0)