DEV Community

Cover image for My keyboard is TKL but my fingers heart is 75%
José Aponte
José Aponte

Posted on

My keyboard is TKL but my fingers heart is 75%

So, here's the thing: I have a Redragon Kumara K552 mechanical keyboard. It's a TKL (tenkeyless) layout and it's my first modded mechanical keyboard. I really don't like full sized (100%) keyboards because I'm very lazy (I don't want to move my right hand to the arrow/navigation keys when I'm coding). It's annoying because I just started to type using the 10 fingers typing method.

I was thinking on a temporal solution for this and I remembered my good ol' pal AutoHotKey! It's an automation scripting language for Windows. Basically, you write a script specifing a keyboard shortcut as a trigger. Then, you code what the script will do after that trigger.

In my case, I wanted to keep it simple: Move the navigation and arrow keys to the alphanumeric area.

Shortcut Configuration

  • R.Alt + u => Ins
  • R.Alt + j => Del
  • R.Alt + i => Home
  • R.Alt + k => End
  • R.Alt + o => PgUp
  • R.Alt + l => PgDn
  • R.Alt + w => ↑
  • R.Alt + s => ↓
  • R.Alt + a => ←
  • R.Alt + d => →

That way I can use my right thumb to press the R.Alt key while using another finger to get the second key I want, keeping my hands on the alphanumeric area.

AutoHotKeyScript

<^>!i::
Send {Home}
return

<^>!k::
Send {End}
return

<^>!o::
Send {PgUp}
return

<^>!l::
Send {PgDn}
return

<^>!u::
Send {Ins}
return

<^>!j::
Send {Del}
return

<^>!w::
Send {Up}
return

<^>!s::
Send {Down}
return

<^>!a::
Send {Left}
return

<^>!d::
Send {Right}
return
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

If you're like me and do not have a 75% (or less) keyboard layout, then you might find this useful! Give it a try and let me know what worked for you 😉

Top comments (0)