DEV Community

jepras
jepras

Posted on

How to implement group feature in MERN app?

I am an aspiring programmer and I set out to build a fullstack Team Reporting app to figure out how everything works together.

I have figured out how to set up the API with, play around with state with Redux to show data posted to my MongoDB through my React frontend.

However, now I need to figure out how to implement a group/team feature. I need a user to be able to create a team, invite other users to that team & then only show the tasks logged under the associated team.

For example like this:
week done structure

I am unaware on where to start. Is this something I should configure in the database security settings? In the model that I use for the database? The way I fetch data? Something with the cookies?

When I search on Google I do not find anything that helps me, hence why I am asking here.

Where to start? Can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks and lots of love if you can help me :)

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
pcarrhi profile image
pcarrhi

I'm totally on the same boat, trying to find where to start on creating new groups :(