DEV Community

Cover image for Refactoring RATOM with HTMX
Jeremy Gibson
Jeremy Gibson

Posted on

Refactoring RATOM with HTMX

What am I doing?

I am going to refactor the RATOM server application into an SSR app using HTMX. The ratom-server application was developed a few years ago, before HTMX really hit the scene.

My idea here is to have a series of posts where I track the progress of my efforts to both really dig in and understand how to fully leverage HTMX, but also to refactor ratom-server so it no longer depends on react-web and is: simpler, easier to maintain, easier to deploy, easier to use, and has testing that ensures confidence in changes made in the future.

Don't get me wrong the app that my colleagues and I developed was and is a very cool and useful product. But like all react apps it requires a thousand hoops and tons of tooling to link the front end to the back end.

I don't know if I will succeed, but I am certain that I will learn a little more about how to create a modern, powerful app that applies the principles of HATEOS.

Wish me luck!

Top comments (0)