DEV Community

Jert Zee
Jert Zee

Posted on • Updated on

Nevertheless, Cecilia Coded

I began to code because...

I decided I wanted to be an engineer when I was 12, it was one sunny day in my middle school when we got the visit of different colleges to introduce what every career was for. I met doctors, architects, lawyers, uff, a huge bunch of people, but when I heard the computer engineer, the light turned on, I couldn't believe how powerful that ugly artifact could be, I was fascinated with all the possibilities this career could give, working anywhere, for all the industries, solving all kinds of conflicts!.

My parents were really surprised when I came back from school saying "I want to be an engineer!", I know deep down their hearts they would have loved that I decide to be dressmaker as my mom or Designer as my dad, but they did never complaint, my parents always supported me.

I overcame...

But, when I was 18, just in the middle of the college (forgot to mention I was admitted in college when I was 15) I got pregnant. Everybody around me said they would support me if I decided to have an abortion, and I wasn't really worried. Actually, I was super positive, like "you know, I'm ok, I'll be ok"...and I did.

I want to brag about...

When I turned 21, I was taking care of my son, studying (I never stopped even when my horrible professors said "you should give up, it's worthless") and had worked for around 15 months in my first full-time job when I got my first promotion, Head of computer department for an educational institution here in México. I hadn't even finished college when I was being considered to be manager of a whole department. I felt unstoppable.

Now, I'm coding for a social cause, working with a lovely team filled with talented people. I've been in all kinds of industries: government, advertising, banking, etc. But I feel my code is more important than ever, and it doesn't matter if there's some people in my team that I might never meet (we live around the globe). I respect, appreciate and love everyone of them.

My advice for other women and non-binary folks who code is...

It doesn't matter where you are, how old or how much education you have. If you really want it, go for it. Your success it's only in your hands, don't let it fall apart.

Today more than ever, I look back to all the nights I couldn't sleep, all those days when I felt exhausted, all the obstacles I found and I feel proud for being an absurdly positive woman

Top comments (0)