DEV Community

Jesse Phillips
Jesse Phillips

Posted on

Value in Dedicated Testing

What is software testing? What does a software tester do? What benefits do they bring to the table? James Bach has been trying save software testing by defining it a craft. But when you're hired to do software testing, you may not be tasked with the craft defined. So I want to put out there what I think I've brought to the table for the quality improvements irrespective of its classification.

I think the number one benefit I've brought into a team has been the investigative skills to make it possible to reproduce an issue and drill down into the cause of the issue. This means an issue has already been found and identified, many times when I've come into the team there is no infrastructure to handle observing and manipulating the system to understanding the behavior or to inject events known to be happening.

This type of value is very different from the expected role tasks. I'm expected to find the issue before any others see it. I'm expected to verify the developer met the requirements specified. I'm expected to check that all previous specified requirements continue to meet the defined behavior. All of these are things I participate in to some level. However I am looking at the changes and the system and taking my best guess effort to cover the critical areas at risk for the changes taking place. This means I spend my time eliminating entire classification and areas of tests in order to meet reasonable quality confidence in a reasonable time period.

I also participate in building out regression automation. The automation is helpful in calling out regression but I also believe certain focus I defined above can reduce the value of these regression tests. However, what I have recently determined to convince myself of some regression tests I consider low risk as still a major value in providing confidence. The focus here is that these low risk tests provide a coverage that eliminates classification of failure, such that when an issue does occur in the general area, focus can be directed quickly away from these low risk areas into areas less understood or covered.

The other aspect to the automated testing I end up writing is it provides the possibility to add the regression tests that cover many different types of situations. I'm still very diligent about where I focus my efforts to places known to be problems, but one of the challenges is convincing people that the symptoms which they see aren't always the problems which need the focus.

QA is not looking for what to test, but what not to test. There are so many things that constitute a test the search is actually being able to eliminate what can be left off for the release. This can come from risk, severity, code changes, and so much more.

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
setagana profile image
setagana

In Accelerate, Forsgren and co. found that having a QA department who is responsible for the automated testing of releases does not lead to improved IT performance. The logic being that if development is not made responsible for automated test coverage, the applications they create will too often be untestable for a QA department. Forsgren and co. come to the conclusion that the role of the QA team should be a mixture of 1) consulting with the development team on how to create their tests and 2) exploratory testing the applications (presumably looking for unanticipated use cases that weren't covered by the spec). Do you have any thoughts on this theory based on your experience?

Collapse
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips • Edited

This sounds reasonable to me. I think that expectations on QA and the traditional approach to QA record keeping make it hard to find that talent and cultivate it.

One other add I provide the team is organize what changes take place for a release.

Collapse
 
alanmbarr profile image
Alan Barr

Great points. Software Engineers are often too close to the metal to know what's worth chasing and what's not. My question to you would be how do you demonstrate that you do those things for your team? Is there some kind of output from those activities be it conversation, documentation, coaching or others.

Collapse
 
jessekphillips profile image
Jesse Phillips • Edited

What is happening is that this is going outside my team. The people I've work directly with in a detailed capacity are on board. What is happening now is this direction is being pushed to additional teams but I don't generally get direct communication, probably due to this mistake.

I do have documentation which goes over the setup but not graphical and high level.

I'm also very helpful when asked, but not always asked.