DEV Community

Cover image for Embracing Change: My Journey from Veterinary and Dental Assistant to Software Engineer
Jessica Papa
Jessica Papa

Posted on

Embracing Change: My Journey from Veterinary and Dental Assistant to Software Engineer

Change is inevitable, and sometimes it is true that life presents us with unexpected opportunities that lead us down completely different paths. My name is Jessica, and for the past decade, I’ve worked as a vet assistant while also spending some time dental assisting. I learned a lot in both professions, and enjoyed them both. However as time passed, my priorities shifted. I realized a goal of mine was to build a sustainable life with my future wife. Unfortunately, I discovered that my career growth and financial prospects in my current fields had reached a plateau. It was during this time that a friend’s decision to become a software engineer interested me. This set me on an unexpected path. In this blog post, I will share my journey from a vet and dental assistant to an aspiring software engineer.

Discovering the Possibilities:
My friend Marissa had successfully completed a bootcamp for software engineering career, and I began to pick her brain about it. I realized that her professional growth and income were not the only factors that interested me. Memories of my teenage years, when I unknowingly coded HTML and CSS to customize my MySpace page (yes, it was that long ago! LOL). It sparked the idea that this could possibly be the right path for me as well.

Taking the Leap:
A complete career change can be super intimidating, so it took me two years of fighting my self doubt to finally go for it. Fueled by the desire for personal and professional growth, I built up the courage to enroll in a software engineering program. Going from working as a vet/dental assistant to being a student in an intensive program was not easy, but I was determined to try something new and grow in a field that seemed foreign to me.

The importance of teamwork:
While the decision to change careers was not easy, I am grateful for the opportunity and being able to connect with new people. Having a good support system within your classmates who are also learning a new path has been so crucial in my learning process. I am super grateful to have them my "sweet angel babies" along this journey.
Don't be afraid to ask questions and remind yourself that we are all learning something new, so try not to be hard on yourself!!

Conclusion:
Life is a journey of self-discovery. My transition from a vet and dental assistant to an aspiring software engineer has been filled with SO MANY highs and lows but, it has taught me the importance of embracing change, even when it seems scary.

Remember, it’s never too late to pursue your dreams and embark on a new path!

Top comments (0)