DEV Community

Cover image for Why I decided to go headless...
Jhanavi Vijaykumar
Jhanavi Vijaykumar

Posted on

Why I decided to go headless...

Hey there!

I'm Jhanavi, a Product Marketer at adirani Digital Solutions. For the past few months I have been actively promoting a product named Garchi CMS, sometimes via newsletters or Reddit posts. I understand that unsolicited product pitches can be annoying but let me explain why I am sooooo enthusiastic about Garchi CMS.

For years, I managed my portfolio website using WIX. The WYSIWYG editor initially gave me good flexibility to showcase my work. However, over time I faced multiple issues that created a frustrating love-hate relationship with WIX.

There were 3 key issues:

  1. Although easy to use at first, making design changes and adding new sections became increasingly clumsy as my portfolio grew. I dreaded having to regularly mess around with tricky templates just to get things looking right or to update projects.

  2. I had to pay huge monthly fees just for WIX's premium membership to access features like using a custom domain and avoiding branded watermarks.

  3. I had to design the mobile and desktop experiences separately because WIX did not support omnichannel content delivery.

So last year, I finally gave up and decided not to renew my WIX membership due to all the unnecessary friction.

Image description

Cut to a few months later, adirani Digital Solutions released a brand new headless CMS called Garchi CMS. Aditya, the co-founder, encouraged me to rebuild my portfolio using Garchi CMS and he helped me set it up. At first, transitioning to a headless CMS was unfamiliar as a traditional CMS user, but customizing my site with Garchi’s flexible framework opened my eyes to a whole new content-first approach.

Now, updating my portfolio is smoother than ever:

  1. Adding a new section to my portfolio and incorporating fresh information about myself is hassle-free with Garchi. I can simply utilize a new section template, input my details, and save time without the need to navigate through containers.

  2. With Garchi's basic plan, I can manage my content for free – no strings attached!

  3. Garchi’s headless architecture means my content automatically adapts across screen sizes and channels. Now, I maintain one framework that looks great on desktop, mobile, or wearables!

So now do you know why I’m promoting Garchi enthusiastically? I've been through the struggles it tackles firsthand! I genuinely wish I had made the switch earlier.

Now I manage my content smoother than ever while still fully customizing my site design - no compromises.

I'm thrilled to have found my perfect CMS fit and want to spread the word. I hopped on the Garchi CMS train and loved the ride, so here I am urging you to give it a spin and make your life a whole lot easier.

Image description

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dsaga profile image
Dusan Petkovic

I imagined a meme here about literally going headless :/

Image description

I think CMS's generally have lots of overhead for portfolio websites especially, as you are not adding that much content in, its mostly a few things per month or less, I have a development background so transitioning from WordPress for example to to a static website with github pages was very natural and easier to manage.

Thanks for the article.

Collapse
 
ranihari profile image
Maharani Hariga

Hi Jhanavi, this is an inspiring read! As someone who relied on web builders (especially knowing the limitations), this gives me hope of a more reliable and cost friendly alternative.