DEV Community

Jason Harrel
Jason Harrel

Posted on

Bootcamps, tech reviews, interviews, Anything else I'm forgetting?

Hello!

Long time fan, first time blogger. I figured it was time I start putting some thoughts down for all to read.

I recently wrapped up my time at Flatiron. I was part of the software engineering focus. It was time for me to get some structured focus learning, as all my learning has been from online video tutorials and many other locations. I also was released from my job in January, 2019, and I figured why not start fresh with something I've always thought was super appealing. So this is where we are today.

After my time with Flatiron, I was presented with a chance to pair up with a professional programmer and do a technical interview. When this came to my knowledge a million lightbulbs went off in my head. I say this because while at Flatiron, technical interviews on my projects were my most dreaded section. I would freeze up. I would stumble over my words. I would not know what the heck I was talking about. But I built the application, why can't I talk about it? That's a mystery I wanted to solve.

So when this was a requirement, I knew I had to buck up and work this out. I decided to take it head on. I knew it was going to be part of my work life, so why not master it now. Boy was I happy I took this approach. For the first time since doing a review I felt comfortable, confident and just about everything in between!

I was paired up with a guy named Neil. He was patient and understanding when I didn't quite understand what was asked. He liked the way I answered his cultural interview questions. When it comes to personal experience and talking about things outside of code, I sometimes can't shut up, especially if it's about something I'm passionate about.

When it came time to code, I was nervous, but knew I had to do it. I was asked to change the state (React) and make it do something from the object. I knew how to do it, I just couldn't get my fingers typing to make it happen. But that is okay! I wanted to keep talking and explaining my thoughts, no matter how crazy or out there they were. I wanted to bounce thoughts off him and see if I was going in the right direction.

The second technical question was on algorithms and solving something a palindrome question. This is where I was stumped. I had never solved something like this before. But that was going to stop me. I continued to talk and explain my process, even if I wasn't typing anything. Towards the end, I was right...sort of. I had the ideas and the thought process, but I just couldn't get the code and logic written correctly.

Now, did I think I bombed it? NO! I was happy with the way I went through the challenges and thought I was way more confident than I initially thought. I think I got the success out of it, and that's what I wanted. Of course the review came back and said "Not passed" But to me, I did pass. I did find that confidence to keep growing and designing. It only comes with practice and repetition that things will get better and I will become more and more successful at this!

Top comments (0)