DEV Community

Jason Harrel
Jason Harrel

Posted on

Designing from scratch

One thing I started to wonder, and challenge myself with, is to design work from scratch. What I mean by this is if I'm curious on figuring out how to make something with a similar style, how can I design something so close to it?

I started to do this with CSS. I wanted to create layouts from scratch, design them in a way that will resemble something I look at every day. I didn't want to get any templates and build off that, but more just start coding.

Boy was I in for a world of wonder. So much guess work goes into this style. Not saying this is something we should all do, I'm sure some have done it or do it now? Maybe just me?

Basically what I learned so far is that I constantly sit and nitpick it all and try to "fine tune it". However, that just leads to frustration and a "meh oh well" outlook.

But what I do learn about it is patience and to get comfy and that Google is really burned into my browser history. hah.

Does anyone else ever take this approach? Does anyone have any tips or strategies?

Top comments (0)