DEV Community

Jason Harrel
Jason Harrel

Posted on

Can You Really Forget The Simple Things?

I'm sure like most of us, we got some kind of power training through a Bootcamp. At least that's what I did. But with the nature and speed they teach you the topics, it's easy to forget them.

Having only a certain amount of time to try to develop skills and master them can put a strain on really knowing everything you need to know to get a job or start a freelance.

But what about when it's all over? What happens to the techs you learned in the early portions? Are you one who wants to keep fresh with the different things learned or are you someone who rather just stick to your favorite?

For someone like myself, when I got into this I wanted to learn it all. But in reality when the bootcamp ends, so does some of the learning grit you have. It's not a bad thing in my mind because it drives me to go back and relearn what I knew. Like riding a bike again years of not.

So all in all, just take time to go back and learn what you might have once knew or been foggy on. Because right now we got all the time we could want with what the world is going through.

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
sargalias profile image
Spyros Argalias

I think you always forget little details. However anything is much faster to learn the second time. It's more like a "refresher" than re-learning.

Also the more experience you get, particularly with concepts, the faster everything becomes to learn anyway.

Collapse
 
frankfont profile image
Frank Font • Edited

I'm a big fan of letting knowledge go. If I learned it, the path will still be there for me to find my way again.

I see this as a superpower paradigm. It's impossible to learn and keep up to date with everything. No one can do it. At best, you can hope to keep up to date with all the latest goings-on in one or two narrow tracks. I think that's too limiting. I don't have a crystal ball to know what one or two things will matter most next year or even next month. So I channel my energy into learning what I need now and don't sweat forgetting. I have ways of finding the answers again.

Collapse
 
adam_cyclones profile image
Adam Crockett 🌀

All the time.